NC GreenPower

NC GreenPower is the first green energy program in the nation to win the support of all the electric utilities in the state. Find your utility provider below and follow the links to sign up. These donations are noted as a separate line item on your electric bill and can be made in any increment of $4. The utilities pass all contributions in their entirety to NC GreenPower on a monthly basis. If your provider is not listed below, you may also make one-time or monthly direct contributions to the NC GreenPower program.

Utility Providers

Here is a list of the utilities that are currently participating in the NC GreenPower program. To contribute to NC GreenPower, contact a customer service representative at your utility or through the utility’s website.

If you move to a new residence, your NC GreenPower contribution will not be automatically renewed. You will need to contact your utility to sign up again.

While we do not refund prior contributions, you may discontinue your contributions at any time. If you are billed monthly through your utility, you will need to contact them to have the contribution removed.

The North Carolina Utilities Commission has approved a change in the distribution of funds contributed to NC GreenPower to be effective January 1, 2020.   Previous contributions of $4 have supplied 50 kilowatt-hours (kWh) of energy produced from green resources such as solar, wind and water.  Future contributions of $4 will 125 kWh of green power and the remainder of the donation will support the installation of solar PV demonstration projects at North Carolina K-12 schools.  All contributions to NC GreenPower are voluntary and 100% is transferred from your utility to NC GreenPower. 

To opt out of this change and direct your entire $4 contribution to a 125 kWh block only supporting generators in the current NC GreenPower program, contact us at 919-716-6398 or via email

For Duke Energy Carolinas and Duke Energy Progress customers, NC GreenPower recently received North Carolina Utilities Commission approval to use 100% of NC GreenPower renewable energy contributions (individuals and small businesses) for solar installations at North Carolina K-12 schools. Read more here.

Albemarle Electric Membership Corporation
252-426-4419 or 800-215-9915

Town of Apex

Blue Ridge Electric Membership Corporation
828-758-2383 or 800-451-5474

Brunswick Electric Membership Corporation
910-754-4391 or 800-842-5871

Central Electric Membership Cooperative

City of Albemarle

City of Concord

Town of Cornelius

Dominion North Carolina Power
1-866-DOM-HELP (1-866-366-4357)

Duke Energy

Duke Energy Progress
800-452-2777 or Local: 919-508-5400
Residential | Business

Edgecombe-Martin County Electric Membership Corporation
252-823-2171 or 800-445-6486

704-873-5241 or 800-522-3793

Fayetteville PWC

Four County Electric Membership Corporation 

French Broad Electric Membership Corporation
800-222-6190 or 828-649-2051

City of Gastonia

Town of Granite Falls

Greenville Utilities

Haywood Electric Membership Corporation 
828-452-2281 or 800-951-6088

Halifax Electric Membership Corporation

City of High Point 

Town of Huntersville

Jones-Onslow Electric Membership Corporation
910-353-1940 or 800-682-1515

City of Kinston

City of Laurinburg

City of Lexington 

Lumbee River Electric Membership Corporation

City of Monroe
770-267-3429 or 1-800-575-3004

City of Newton

City of New Bern

New River Light & Power
(828) 264-3671

Pee Dee Electric Membership Corporation
704-694-2114 or 800-992-1626

Piedmont Electric Membership Corporation
919-732-2123 or 800-222-3107

Randolph Electric Membership Corporation
336-625-5177 or 800-672-8212

Roanoke Electric Membership Corporation

Rutherford Electric Membership Corporation
828-245-1621 or 800-521-0920

City of Shelby
704-484-6840 (Customer Services)

City of Statesville

Surry Yadkin Electric Membership Corporation

Tideland Electric Membership Corporation
252-943-3046 or 800-637-1079

Tri-County Electric Membership Corporation
919-735-2611 or 800-548-4869

Union Power Cooperative

Town of Wake Forest

City of Washington

Town of Waynesville

City of Wilson – Wilson Energy